A A | Email | Print | Share

Rankings, Awards & Bar Pass Rates

Current Rankings

1st in Intellectual Property Law — Law Street (June 2017)

4th in Trial Advocacy — U.S. News & World Report (March 2017)

7th in Appellate Advocacy — Blakely Advocacy Institute at the University of Houston Law Center (June 2017)

22nd among Part-time Programs — U.S. News & World Report (March 2017)

92nd Overall Rank — U.S. News & World Report (March 2017)

Among the top 10 law schools teaching technology as it applies to law practice — ABA Journal (July 2014)

Faculty ranks 52nd in the nation based on scholarly impact — Sisk et al. (2015)

Among the 55 best law school facilitiespreLaw magazine (Fall 2014)

Bar Passage Rate

Over the past 10 years, our graduates have achieved first-time pass rates that are four to seven points above the state pass rate on the July Illinois bar exam. In July 2016, 83 percent of Chicago-Kent graduates who took the bar exam for the first time received passing scores, exceeding the state pass rate for first-time test takers by six points.

Chicago-Kent is among the top 50 law schools whose students outperform on the bar exam, based on a statistical analysis of incoming LSAT scores and bar passage rates of U.S. law schools (National Jurist, Feb. 2015). Chicago-Kent is the only Illinois law school included on this list.

Trial Advocacy & Moot Court Awards

Bryce Hensley '17, Best Oral Advocate, Tournament of Champions

First place, National Trial Competition
Emily Shroeder '15, Best Advocate Award

Ryan Nolte '11, Best Oral Advocate, National Trial Competition

First place, National Institute for Trial Advocacy's Tournament of Champions
Joseph Carlasare '12, Best Oral Advocate Award

First place, National Moot Court Competition

First place, National Trial Competition
Joshua Jones '08, Best Oral Advocate Award

First place, National Moot Court Competition
Rachel Moran '08, Best Oral Advocate Award

First place, National Trial Competition
Keya Rajput '07, Best Oral Advocate Award

First place, National Trial Competition
Peter Roskam '89, Best Oral Advocate Award

Midwest regional tournament, National Trial Competition
IIT Chicago-Kent has won the Midwest regional championship 23 times in the past 30 years.

Appellate Lawyers Association's Moot Court Competition
IIT Chicago-Kent has won the Appellate Lawyers Association's Moot Court Competition five times in the last six years.

Midwest regional tournament, National Moot Court Competition
IIT Chicago-Kent has advanced out of the regional tournament to the national finals six times in the last seven years.

Recent Faculty Honors

Professor Sungjoon Cho was selected by the Korea-EU Trade Commission to become one of 15 members of the Arbitration Panel Roster under Chapter 14 of the Korea-European Union Free Trade Agreement.

Professor Edward Kraus was appointed by Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius to serve on the Advisory Commission on Childhood Vaccines. The nine-member commission is charged with advising the secretary on issues related to the implementation of the National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program.

Professor Martin Malin was reappointed by President Barack Obama in 2014 to the Federal Service Impasse Panel, which intervenes when an agency of the federal government and a union representing that agency's employees are unable to reach agreement on the terms of a new collective bargaining agreement. Professor Malin was first appointed in 2009.

Professor Christopher Schmidt won the 2014 Association of American Law Schools' Scholarly Papers Competition for his paper "Divided by Law: The Sit-Ins and the Role of the Courts in the Civil Rights Movement." The competition encourages and recognizes excellent legal scholarship by junior law school faculty members.

Professor Carolyn Shapiro was appointed Illinois Solicitor General by Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan. In her new role, Professor Shapiro oversees more than 40 attorneys who work in the Attorney General's Appellate Division and serves as a legal adviser to Madigan. Professor Shapiro succeeds Michael Scodro, who was also appointed from the Chicago-Kent faculty.

Professor Joan Steinman won the 2011-12 Eisenberg Prize from the American Academy of Appellate Lawyers for her paper Appellate Courts as First Responders. Professor Steinman, whose Georgia Law Review article Irregulars: The Appellate Rights of Persons Who Are Not Full-Fledged Parties was similarly honored in 2005, is the first scholar to win two Eisenberg prizes.

Keith Ann Stiverson, director of the IIT Chicago-Kent Law Library, was elected vice president/president of the American Association of Law Libaries. She'll serve a one-year term as vice president beginning in July 2014 before starting her term as president in July 2015.

Eleven members of the Chicago-Kent faculty are members of the American Law Institute, an independent organization that produces scholarly work to clarify, modernize and otherwise improve the law.