IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law to defend its National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition Championship

Two teams from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law will compete in the sixth annual National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition. The tournament, sponsored by DePaul University College of Law and the Lawyers' Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation, will be held February 27 and 28 at the Everett McKinley Dirksen U.S. Courthouse in Chicago.

IIT Chicago-Kent is returning as defending champion, having won the overall competition as well as garnering individual honors for the top two oral advocates. (IIT Chicago-Kent won back-to-back championships in the competition in 2011 and 2012.)

This year, second-year students Nicholas Brankle, Gregory Conner and Patrick Etchingham will compete on one IIT Chicago-Kent team. Second-year students Kayla Higgins, Leo Reardon and Holly Venhuizen will comprise the other team.

Team member Nicholas Brankle received a degree in religion from Wabash College. Teammate Gregory Conner earned an undergraduate degree in political science from Denison University. Teammate Patrick Etchingham completed his undergraduate education in political science at the University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana.

Team member Kayla Higgins earned a degree in Law, Letters and Society from the University of Chicago. Teammate Leo Reardon graduated from Indiana University with a double major in criminal justice and political science. Teammate Holly Venhuizen graduated with a double major in public policy and legal studies from Indiana University.

Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, also known as Illinois Tech, a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law. In 2009, IIT Chicago-Kent successfully defended its championship in the National Moot Court Competition, becoming the first school in that tournament's history to win back-to-back titles.

Related News