IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law to participate in the Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Moot Court Competition

IIT Chicago-Kent team of Dion Beatty '16 and Militza Pagán '17 will represent the law school in the Robert F. Wagner National Labor and Employment Law Moot Court Competition March 19 to 22 at New York Law School.

The tournament is the nation's largest student-run moot court competition and the premier national competition dedicated exclusively to the area of labor and employment law. The competition is named for the late U.S. Senator Robert F. Wagner, a 1900 graduate of New York Law School, who sponsored the National Labor Relations Act of 1935 and the Social Security Act of 1935.

Team member Dion Beatty earned an undergraduate degree in sociology and creative writing, and a master of social work degree from the University of Michigan. Beatty holds a master's degree in business administration and a master's degree in human resources from DePaul University. Teammate Militza Pagán completed her undergraduate education in history at Yale University.

Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, also known as Illinois Tech, a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law. In 2009, IIT Chicago-Kent successfully defended its championship in the National Moot Court Competition, becoming the first school in that tournament's history to win back-to-back titles.

Related News