IIT Chicago-Kent names its 2015 ABA National Appellate Advocacy Regional Competition teams

Two teams from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law will participate in the 2015 ABA National Appellate Advocacy Regional Competition March 6 to 8 in Seattle.

Angelo Christopher '16 and Lauren Darwit '16 will compete on one team. Katie DeBoer '16 and Matt McElwee '16 will comprise the other team.

Sponsored by the American Bar Association's Law Student Division, the competition emphasizes students' written and oral advocacy skills. The top four teams from six regional tournaments will advance to the national finals April 9 to 11 in Chicago. (The IIT Chicago-Kent team of Koplan Nwabuoku '14 and Valerie Raedy '14 won last year's regional tournament.)

Current team member Angelo Christopher completed his undergraduate education in mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Teammate Lauren Darwit earned a degree in communication from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Team member Katie DeBoer graduated from the University of Iowa with a degree in ethics and public policy, and journalism and mass communication. Teammate Matt McElwee received a degree in business administration from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, also known as Illinois Tech, a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law. In 2009, IIT Chicago-Kent successfully defended its championship in the National Moot Court Competition, becoming the first school in that tournament's history to win back-to-back titles.

Related News