IIT Chicago-Kent wins championship and best brief award in the 2014 Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Regional Competition

The IIT Chicago-Kent team of Sarah Aagaard and Benjamin Boroughf have advanced to the national finals of the 23rd annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition after winning the Midwest regional tournament February 8 in Chicago. IIT Chicago-Kent, which competed against teams from nine states in the region, also won the award for the best brief.

IIT Chicago-Kent and the second-place team from John Marshall Law School will join the top two teams from four other regions in the national finals March 15 at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Washington, D.C.

Established in 1990 by the International Trademark Association, the competition is named for the late Saul Lefkowitz to honor his contributions to the development of trademark law and to the education of the trademark bar. Mr. Lefkowitz served as chairman of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. The competition is designed to introduce law students to important issues arising in U.S. trademark and unfair competition law in a courtroom setting.

Winning team member Sarah Aagaard is a third-year student who completed her undergraduate education in journalism and mass communication at the University of Iowa. Teammate Benjamin Boroughf, also a third-year student, earned a bachelor of arts degree in English at Western Michigan University and a graduate degree in Japanese linguistics at Ohio State University. The team is coached by IIT Chicago-Kent alumna Ashly I. Boesche '04.

Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, a private, Ph.D.-granting institution with programs in engineering, psychology, architecture, business, design and law.

Related News