Student Legal Writing Competitions - June 2022

The following are writing competitions to which law students may be eligible to submit their writings. For future writing competition deadlines and competitions by subject, see the Library’s Student Legal Writing Competitions Guide.

Smith-Doheny Legal Ethics Writing Competition
"Entries should concern any issue within the general category of legal ethics."
Deadline: June 1, 2022. 5 PM Eastern.

American College of Employee Benefits Counsel Writing Prize
Papers may be on any topic in the employee benefits field.
Deadline: June 1, 2021. Annual competition.

H. Thomas Austern Writing Competition
"intended to encourage law students interested in the areas of law affecting FDA-regulated industries: food, drugs, medical devices, biologics, dietary supplements, cosmetics, veterinary, cannabis, or tobacco and nicotine products."
Deadline: June 11, 2021. Annual competition.

Adam A. Milani Disability Law Writing Competition
The purposes of the competition are to promote greater interest in and understanding of the field of disability law and to encourage excellent legal writing skills in law students.
Deadline: 11:59 p.m., June 11, 2021. Annual competition

ChapmanAlbin Scholarship for Law Students
"Since 2015, ChapmanAlbin has sponsored a yearly $1000 scholarship for incoming and current law students. To apply, a U.S. law student must write a 300-500 word essay on a specific topic and meet a few other criteria for consideration."
Deadline: June 15th, annually

College of Labor and Employment Lawyers and ABA Section of Labor & Employment Lawyers
"current and relevant topics of labor and employment law"
Deadline: June 15, 2022, at midnight (EDT)

Louis Jackson Memorial National Student Writing Competition in Employment and Labor Law
The competition is sponsored by Jackson Lewis LLP and is administered by IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law’s Institute for Law and the Workplace (ILW). It recognizes the best legal writing in the field of labor and employment law among current law students. The committee of five judges is drawn from among the most preeminent labor and employment law scholars in the country, and entries are blind judged. The top three winners receive scholarships: $3000 for the first-place winner, and $1000 each for the two second-place winners.
Deadline: June 15, 2021

Cornelius Vanderbroek Memorial Essay Competition for Law School Students
Freedom From Religion Student Scholarship Essay Contests main page:
Deadline: June 15, 2021. Annual. Check early each year for that year's competition guidelines.

NYSBA/ACCTM National Championship Alternative Dispute Resolution Law Student Writing Competition
Sponsored by the Dispute Resolution Section of the New York State Bar Association and the American College of Civil Trial Mediators
"Subject matter focus for entries can be on any aspect within the full range of alternative dispute resolution – reconciliation systems (e.g., negotiation, mediation), consensus based adjudicative processes (e.g., early neutral evaluation, arbitration and private judging), or mixed processes (e.g., arb-med, med-arb, high low arbitration, baseball arbitration etc.). Papers can also focus on ADR process design, practice techniques, specific case studies, related legislation, and ethical dilemmas and standards for dispute resolution professionals."
Deadline: 11:59pm (EST) on June 15, 2021. Annual competition

National Law Review 2020-2021 Law Student Writing Competition
"straightforward and practical, containing useful information of interest to legal and business professionals" Suggested Topics:

  • Election Law and Access to Voting
  • President Trump and current administration
  • Tax Issues
  • Immigration enforcement and policy
  • Federal Court issues: process of adding additional justices to the US Supreme Court/Federal Circuit
  • Employment Issues - Ban the Box Laws, Minimum Wage, Transgender Accommodations, Age/Sex Discrimination

Deadline: 5:00 pm Central Standard Time by the last day of the month.

American Society for Pharmacy Law (ASPL) Larry M. Simonsmeier Writing Award
"ASPL recognizes outstanding scholarship related to Pharmacy Law with the Simonsmeier Award."
Deadline: June 30, 2021

American Planning Association Smith-Babcock-Williams Writing Competition
"exemplary contributions to the field of planning."
Deadline: June 30, 2021. Annual competition.

American Intellectual Property Law Association Robert C. Watson Award
"Law students are encouraged to submit an article on an IP topic, written on or before June," annually.
Deadline: June 30, 2021.

California Supreme Court Historical Society Selma Moidel Smith Law Student Writing Competition
"to promote research and writing on the California Supreme Court and the state’s legal history."
Deadline: June 30, 2021. Annual

Christopher E. Bergin Award for Excellence in Writing
"The Christopher E. Bergin Award for Excellence in Writing recognizes superior student writing on unsettled questions in tax law or policy. It is named in honor of the late Christopher E. Bergin, former president and publisher of Tax Analysts and longtime editor of Tax Notes Federal. The award, given annually, epitomizes the qualities that Chris championed."
Deadline: June 30, 2021. Annual.

American College of Trust and Estate Counsel Mary Moers Wenig Student Writing Competition
"Consistent with ACTEC’s purposes, the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel Mary Moers Wenig Student Writing Competition was created to encourage and reward scholarly works in the area of trusts and estates."
Deadline: June 30, 2021 (annual)