Piper Lecture in Labor Law

Since 1979, the Kenneth M. Piper Memorial Lecture in Labor Law has brought together experts from labor, management and academia to debate current issues in labor relations. The lecture series is underwritten by the Kenneth M. Piper Endowment, which was established in 1981 by the gift of Mrs. Kenneth M. Piper in memory of her husband. Mr. Piper, a senior executive with Motorola Inc. and Bausch & Lomb Inc., made important contributions for more than two decades in personnel and labor relations for these companies.

Past Piper Lecturers Have Included

  • Professor Robert Sprague of the University of Wyoming
  • Lance Compa of the School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University
  • Professor Noah D. Katz of UCLA School of Law  [video]
  • Jared Bernstein of the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities  [video]
  • Professor Amy B. Monahan of the University of Minnesota Law School
  • Dean Katherine S. Newman of the Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences at Johns Hopkins University
  • Professor Pauline T. Kim of Washington University School of Law
  • Professor Joan C. Williams of the University of California, Hastings College of the Law
  • Professor Richard B. Freeman of Harvard University
  • Professor Cynthia Estlund of New York University School of Law
  • Professor Thomas C. Kohler of Boston College Law School
  • Professor Kenneth G. Dau-Schmidt of Indiana University School of Law-Bloomington
  • Sara E. Rix of the Public Policy Institute of AARP
  • Professor Catherine L. Fisk of the University of Southern California Law School
  • Professor Maria O'Brien Hylton of Boston University School of Law
  • Professor Marion G. Crain of the University of North Carolina
  • Professor Howard F. Chang of the University of Pennsylvania Law School
  • Jonathan Hiatt, General Counsel for AFL-CIO
  • William P. Hobgood, Senior Vice President–People Division for United Airlines
  • Professor Katherine Stone of Cornell Law School
  • Professor Peter Cappelli of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Professor Sanford M. Jacoby of the John E. Anderson Graduate School of Management at UCLA
  • Professor Thomas A. Kochan of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Professor James Gross of Cornell University