Past Commencement Videos & Speakers

Please note: It is unlawful to copy, reproduce, distribute, or otherwise make the media on this page available by whatever means, including, without limitation, via the internet. Questions:

To view past commencement ceremonies between 2001 and 2011, click here. To view recent ceremonies click on the ceremony date below.


May 14, 2023
Jeffrey S. Weiner, Miami Criminal Defense Attorney 

May 15, 2022
Jessica Kimbrough '04, Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, United Airlines 

May 16, 2021
Kwame Y. Raoul, Illinois Attorney General

May 17, 2020
Anne M. Burke, Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice

May 19, 2019
Michael P. Galvin, President of Galvin Enterprises, Inc.

May 13, 2018
Honorable Anna Barbara Hantz Marconi ’92, New Hampshire Supreme Court

May 14, 2017
Greg Wyler ’96, OneWeb founder 

May 15, 2016
Amy Campanelli ’87, Cook County Public Defender

May 17, 2015
Jorge Ramirez ’97, Chicago Federation of Labor, President

May 18, 2014
Kwame Raoul ’93, Illinois State Senator

May 19, 2013
Scott Turow, Attorney and Author

May 13, 2012
Her Royal Highness (HRH) Princess Bajrakitiyabha Mahidol of Thailand, and Laurel Bellows, president-elect of the American Bar Association

May 15, 2011
Anita Alvarez ’86, Cook County State's Attorney

May 16, 2010
Craig Donohue, LL.M. ’89, CEO of the CME Group, delivered the alumni keynote and U.S. Senator Richard J. Durbin provided the commencement address.

May 17, 2009
William E. Kovacic, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission

May 18, 2008
The Honorable Lisa Madigan, Illinois Attorney General

May 20, 2007
Honorable Anne M. Burke ’83, Illinois Supreme Court Justice

May 21, 2006
Bill Kurtis, journalist

May 22, 2005
Thomas A. Demetrio ’73, attorney, Corboy & Demetrio

May 23, 2004
Honorable Diane P. Wood, judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

May 25, 2003
Barack Obama, Illinois State Senator and 44th United States President